Picasso’s Mirror and Memes

02Oct09

Picasso: Girl Before a Mirror

Remember the wickedly evil stepmom in Disney’s “Snow White”? Creepy lady, wasn’t she? That movie still scares me a bit, even though I am into my 20’s. She says “Mirror, Mirror on the wall, who’s the fairest of them all?”

Mirrors, without getting all complicated about light and angles of the mirror, ect., basically reflect our physical self.  When I think about how we mirror ourselves today, and with making that lovely technological connection, I can not help but think of how social networking mirrors who we are to ourselves and others.  We’ve created that self-portrait of who we are by adding all this personal information and pictures into our personal profiles, but is it an accurate reflection of who we are? Do we really share everything about ourselves? Should we share everything?

These are some pretty complicated questions.

Allow me to suggest that we are like Picasso’s “Girl in the Mirror”. Our personal profiles on social networking sites mirror what we want people to see. The colors of ourselves are a bit different than who we really are.  Certainly I advocate being true to one’s self. But many people, myself included, feel this really intense need to pad our personal profiles and use words to develop someone a little shall I say “Cooler”, for a lack of better word, person.  My personal profile remains true to myself, just because I feel like reflecting myself as something different isn’t the best way to present myself to new friends or to those who have known me all my life, but the urge is there none the less.

I think this painting is truly relevant to our personal profiles even though it was painted approximately a century ago. You may think you need to reflect yourself inaccurately to have some really cool colors and patterns added to your personal self, but in all reality, you’re full of really cool patterns and colors on your own.

So keep it sur “real”.

TobiGirl Before Mirror

One Response to “Picasso’s Mirror and Memes”

  1. 1 Scott Reed

    To play the McLuhan card, when i think of Picasso I also think that he’s the kind of artist that couldn’t (not just wouldn’t) have emerged before the invention of photography. It’s almost like, seeing the “extensions” it offered, Picasso ran as far as he could in the opposite direction. His painting was a different sort of “extension” altogether.

    And sometimes I think about Nietzsche’s typewriter, as Nicholas Carr mentioned in the Google essay. Also weird how, from a certain angle, it takes that sort of “extension” to create the grounds for a figure like Picasso to emerge. “Our tools are working on our thoughts,” Nietzsche said about his typewriter. Is Picasso just evidence of how “fragmented” our texts have become?


Leave a Reply

